Me!Me!Me! Footprint of a Runner

Sarah Witham

Age 45, in a relationship with Rob Scriven, also a MAC member Children – two girls, big age gap - Ione, 21 and Aislinn, 11 Works as an Employer Adviser for the DWP, based in Chesterfield
Read More interviews

Tell us a bit about childhood?

Born in Chesterfield, so lived round here all my life, apart from a brief time away at Uni in Lancaster and Copenhagen. One younger sister, Emma – we’re totally different but we get on well. Mum and Dad were always there for me and gave me so much support and continue to do so. Pretty idyllic really. I even loved school !!

Who/what has been the biggest influence in your life?

My mum, definitely. She is just amazing – kind, honest and even when I’ve messed up she has always had my back. I try to be at least 50% of the mum she is to my girls.

Do you have any weird food combos you love?

Not really, but I always get a very strong craving for a Pepsi Max if I run any further than 10 miles.

Stiff drink or herbal tea?

Tea, but has to be builder’s tea and definitely not herbal.

Has your career worked out as planned?

Went to University to study Politics originally, but changed my mind and did my degree in History. Never really had a specific career path in mind, just love history. Still don’t know what I want to do though !! Quite happy in my current job as I have a lot of say in how I do my work, I get to go out and about meeting employers and building relationships and I work flexi, always a bonus.

You haven’t been a member of MAC very long, what benefits have you found from being in the Club?

I don’t get to attend any of the club nights very often with Aislinn still being quite young but from what I’ve seen there is a lot of variety and I love the fact that the summer runs tend to be off road.

What 4 words best sum you up?

Bossy, organised, focused, busy.

Some stats

PBs 5K – 21:17, 10K 43:29. Half 1:36:56, Full 4:02:21 (went off too fast, failed at the end)

Other interests?

Reading and lots of dog walking – that’s about all I have time for !!

What makes you happy?

Quite a few things – my girls, Rob, my Springer Spaniel Milo (especially when I get home from work and he acts like he hasn’t seen me for years), seeing the sun in a morning….

Where do you see yourself in 5 years’ time?

Still healthy and happy.

Are you a saver or a spender?

I go through phases of trying to be good and saving, and then I relapse !! I really do need to make an effort to save more as the cost of living is something that does worry me.

Is there a challenge you particularly want to take on?

I want to climb Snowdon and Ben Nevis with Aislinn.

Favourite place in the World?

The Lake District, as long as it’s with Rob and Aislinn.

What is your guilty pleasure?

Married at First Sight Australia

Latest music download?

Anything to annoy Rob when he’s driving !!

Favourite film? TV? Book?

Favourite film – Schindler’s List
TV – don’t really watch a lot but just binged on Season 3 of Derry Girls.
Book – My Policeman, by Bethan Roberts.

What are you most proud of in your life?

My girls – I think I’ve done an ok job with them so far.

Do you have any ideas which Matlock AC could incorporate to improve the club?

Not really, everyone seems to get involved, whether that be running or helping out at club events. The club always seems to demonstrate a great team spirit and is very inclusive of everyone, no matter what their ability.