September 2, 2023

No Walk in the Park

Saturday 2 September saw 10 MACs head over to Chesterfield for North Derbyshire Running Club’s No Walk in the Park 5k (held on the first Saturday of each month). The race was the fifth counter in the Road Championships series.

The MAC ladies shone, with Lucy Taylor the first lady (20:42) and Megan Hopkinson second (21:47). Lisa Jones was just two seconds away from completing the complete MAC podium, and had to settle for fourth place (22:41)

For the chaps, Andy Mellor finished third overall (19:06) spurred on by the knowledge that young whipper snapper Jacob Jones was not far behind (19:34). Tim Clayton bagged a top ten spot in 19:54 with Chris Gillott in 11th place (20:20).

Gary Jones mercilessly abandoned his offspring to finish 14th (21:37) leaving Jim Thorneycroft to pace young Oliver Jones to the finish, with Oliver turning on the turbo boosters at the end to finish two seconds ahead of Jim (26th and 27th respectively).

The latest Road Championship series standings are on our WebScorer page:

The race was won by Dean McLaughlin in 16:51 – thanks to NDRC for a well organised event – full results available on their WebScorer page:

Photo album courtesy of NDRC: